Sign In
    Wisconsin Lawyer
    January 07, 2022

    Members Only

    Who's become a partner, changed firms, received an award, and more.

    New Hires, Promotions, Partners

    Janel Bergsbaken, U.W. 2015, has become a shareholder at Godfrey, Leibsle, Blackbourn & Howarth S.C., Elkhorn. She continues to focus on civil litigation and trial practice.

    Brian L. Kuhl, U.W. 2013, has been promoted to partner at Mayer Brown LLP, Chicago, and continues to focus in banking and finance.

    Ellen KosmatkaNick WanicEllen Kosmatka, Marquette 2021 cum laude, and Nick Wanic, Marquette 2020 Pro Bono Honor Society, have joined La Fleur Law as associates in the Milwaukee and Waukesha offices. Kosmatka and Wanic focus on civil litigation.

    Jeffrey B. Norman, Marquette 2002, has become chief of police for the city of Milwaukee. He joined the Milwaukee Police Department in 1996 and has worked in the robbery, violent crimes, homicide, and property crimes divisions.

    Appointments, Elections

    Lori Kornblum, Berkeley 1982, has been appointed to the Wisconsin Court of Appeals District II by Gov. Tony Evers. She fills a vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Paul F. Reilly, U.W. 1987. Kornblum previously was in private practice, focusing on disability law, children’s welfare, and guardianships, and taught at Milwaukee Area Technical College, Marquette Law School, and Northeastern University Law School.

    Authors, Speakers

    The following attorneys authored the recently revised Commercial and Consumer Transactions in Wisconsin (State Bar of Wis. 3d ed. 2021): Ralph C. Anzivino, Case Western Reserve 1972, Marquette University Law School, Milwaukee; David I. Cisar, U.W. 1982, and Matthew J. Thome, Michigan 2008,von Briesen & Roper s.c., Milwaukee; Timothy S. Crisp, Duke 1990, Holland & Hart LLP, Santa Fe, New Mexico; Catherine L. Davies, Michigan 1990, Adam R. Konrad, Cornell 2005, and Robert J. Misey Jr., Vanderbilt 1987, Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren s.c., Milwaukee; Shane Delsman, U.W. 2007, and Sarah A. Sargent, Iowa 2016, Godfrey & Kahn S.C., Milwaukee; Norman D. Farnam, Illinois 1999, Stroud, Willink & Howard LLC, Madison; Max S. Meckstroth, Minnesota 2015, and Andrew J. Wronski, Minnesota 1994, Foley & Lardner LLP, Milwaukee; and Gregory A. Myszkowski, U.W. 2007, Wisconsin Department of Justice, Madison.

    Thomas Domer, U.W. 1983, presented “LIAR!: Honesty and Ethics in Workers’ Compensation Practice,” at the 2021 Annual Convention of the Workers’ Injury Law & Advocacy Group in Palm Beach, Fla. He represents injured workers at Domer Law, Milwaukee and Waukesha.

    Awards, Degrees, Honors

    Michelle M. Hockers, Marquette 2015, has been named Outstanding Young Trial Lawyer of 2021 by the New Lawyers Section of the Wisconsin Association for Justice. Hockers is a partner at Murphy & Prachthauser S.C., Milwaukee, focusing on personal-injury law. Her areas of expertise include motor vehicle accidents, serious personal injury cases, and product liability cases.

    Dan NielsenDan Nielsen, U.W. 1982, received the American Bar Association’s Arvid Anderson Attorney of the Year Award. The award is given annually to an attorney whose career has substantially contributed to the development of public sector labor law in the United States. It was presented in Los Angeles in November. Nielsen’s career has included work as a mediator with the Wisconsin Employment Relations Commission, an assistant professor of labor relations, and a mediator and arbitrator in private practice. He recently completed his term as president of the National Academy of Arbitrators, where he formulated the profession’s response to the COVID-19 crisis.

    In Memoriam

    Lawrence Clancy, U.W. 1956, Oconomowoc, Jan. 13, 1932 – Feb. 10, 2021.

    Paul Pakalski, Marquette 1962, St. Pete Beach, Fla., Nov. 17, 1936 – July 19, 2021.

    T.J. Ralph, U.W. 1962, San Antonio, Texas, Oct. 28, 1930 – Feb. 22, 2021.

    How to Place your Announcement

    If you have moved, become a partner or an associate, or received a promotion or an award, let us know! Email announcements to: Notices about State Bar members in good standing are printed as space is available, and subject to editing. Writing guidelines are available here. Questions? Email us or call (608) 250-6139.

    Photo placement: Submit a professional-quality photo. If the photo is used, the State Bar will issue an invoice ($35 each). Group photos are not accepted. High-resolution electronic photos are preferred.

    Deadline: The first of the month preceding publication. For example, to place an announcement in the May issue, it must be received before April 1.

    Ineligible announcements: Talks, speeches (unless they are of national stature), honors from other publications, and political announcements are not accepted.

Join the conversation! Log in to comment.

News & Pubs Search

Format: MM/DD/YYYY