Legal Association for Women

State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In

Top Link Bar

Legal Association for Women

LAW is a voluntary association of lawyers and other legal professionals concerned about the law as it affects women. LAW also focuses on issues affecting women in legal and law-related professions.

LAW bylaws provide that "any person subscribing to the purpose of the eligible for membership." LAW welcomes male as well as female members, and non-lawyer as well as lawyer members. Legal office staff, paralegals, law advocates, legislators, and administrators in state and local government are also welcomed. LAW invites all persons who share its goals to become members.

2017 Marygold Melli Award Nominations

Deadline to Nominate is April 21, 2017

The Marygold Melli Achievement Award was established in 1994 by LAW. Each year it recognizes and celebrates an outstanding individual in Wisconsin who has made substantial contributions to the interests of women in the law, has achieved professional excellence, and has contributed significantly to the eradication of gender bias in the legal system. The award honors Marygold Shire Melli, Professor Emerita at the University of Wisconsin Law School, a distinguished teacher, prolific scholar, parent of four children and contributor to her profession and her community.

The award recognizes a person of professional excellence who has made significant contributions to women in the law by:

  • advancing the interests of women members of the legal profession;
  • promoting improvements in the administration of justice;
  • promoting equality and social justice for all people;
  • promoting the right of women in society; and
  • improving relations between the legal profession and the public.

Past recipients of the award include Kristine Euclide, Hon. Margaret Vergeront, Judy Schwaemle, Gretchen Viney, Hon. Ann Walsh Bradley, Marsha Mansfield, Betsy Abrahamson, Prof. Carin Clauss, Hon. Angela Bartell, Hon. Burnie Bridge, Eunice Gibson, Pamela Barker & Susan Steingass, Prof. Louise Trubek, Prof. June Weisberger, Diane Greenley, Hon. Barbara Crabb, Hon. Shirley Abrahamson, Mary Lou Munts, and Ruth Doyle.

Please contact com elizabethcavell gmail Elizabeth Cavell if you have any questions about the award. Nomination materials are due by April 21, 2017.