Sign In
    Wisconsin Lawyer
    May 01, 2020

    Members Only

    If you have moved, become a partner or an associate, or received a promotion or an award, let us know.

    New Hires, Promotions, Partners

    James M. BurrowsJames M. Burrows, Marquette 2011 magna cum laude, has joined Bosshard | Parke Ltd. in the La Crosse office. He litigates commercial, employment, intellectual property, and other civil disputes, representing individual and business clients in Wisconsin state and federal courts. Burrows previously practiced with Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren s.c. in litigation.

    Stephen Caffrey Dries, U.W. 2001 magna cum laude, has been named magistrate judge of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Wisconsin. Previously, he was clerk of court for the Eastern District, and before that, served judicial clerkships and practiced at Jenner & Block LLC, Chicago.

    Joshua J. HermesJoshua J. Hermes, Valparaiso 2010, has joined Strang, Patteson, Renning, Lewis & Lacy s.c. in the Green Bay and Oshkosh offices. He represents public- and private-sector clients in school and higher-education law, labor and employment law, municipal law, creditor rights, and litigation and provides support for other practice areas.

    Bryan E. TillmanBryan E. Tillman, Hamline 2000, has joined Bakke Norman S.C., New Richmond, and concentrates on commercial transactions, business succession planning, and commercial real estate. Previously, he was senior corporate counsel at Ashley Furniture.

    Nicole Ways, Marquette 2016, has joined Axley in the Waukesha office and concentrates in construction litigation, commercial litigation, and insurance defense. Previously, she practiced civil-litigation defense at a firm in Milwaukee. Ways frequently handles cases for architects, engineers, building owners, developers, accountants, financial advisors, and insurance companies in the areas of commercial litigation, construction, premises liability, and professional liability.

    Appointments, Elections

    David J. Dykeman, U.W. 1997, has been appointed co-managing shareholder of Greenberg Traurig’s Boston office. A registered patent attorney, he also co-chairs the firm’s global life sciences and medical technology group. He focuses on securing worldwide intellectual property protection and related business strategy for high-tech clients and has experience in life sciences, medical devices, robotics, materials, and information technology.

    Benjamin Wagner, U.W. 2003, has joined the board of Hispanic Professionals of Greater Milwaukee. He is a shareholder in the Milwaukee office of Habush Habush & Rottier SC.

    In Memoriam

    Claudia A. Hoogasian, John Marshall 1978, Lake Forest, Ill., Feb. 18, 1943 – Jan. 7, 2020.

    John W. Knuteson, Marquette 1975, Racine, May 11, 1949 – April 3, 2020.

    Jeremy P. Levinson, U.W. 1997, Milwaukee, July 19, 1969 – March 29, 2020.

    Rita Michalski, SUNY Buffalo 1983, Milwaukee, Aug. 15, 1949 – Feb. 13, 2017.

    Edward J. Ward, Marquette 1976, Waukesha, July 14, 1945 – Oct. 13, 2019.

    Harry F. Worth Jr., U.W. 1962, Broomfield, Colo., April 3, 1937 – March 16, 2020.

    How to Place your Announcement

    If you have moved, become a partner or an associate, or received a promotion or an award, let us know. Talks, speeches (unless they are of national stature), honors from other publications, and political announcements are not accepted. Notices about State Bar members in good standing are printed as space is available, and at no cost, must be submitted in writing, and may be edited. Questions: (608) 250-6139.

    Photo placement: Submit a professional-quality photo. If the photo is used, the State Bar will issue an invoice ($30 each). Group photos are not accepted. High-resolution electronic photos are preferred.

    Deadline: The first of the month preceding publication. For example, to place an announcement in the May issue, it must be received before April 1. Email to: Include your State Bar membership number.

Join the conversation! Log in to comment.

News & Pubs Search

Format: MM/DD/YYYY