Wisconsin Lawyer: In the News:

State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In
    Wisconsin LawyerWisconsin Lawyer

News & Pubs Search


    In the News

    Share This:

    Wisconsin LawyerWisconsin Lawyer
    Vol. 82, No. 11, November 2009


    New Hires, Promotions, Partners

    Jennifer Geller 
Baumann Jennifer Geller Baumann, Marquette 2002, has been promoted to partner at Rose & deJong S.C., Milwaukee, and continues to focus on construction, real estate, and business litigation.

    Leah M. Michaelson-Link, Marquette 2004, has been promoted to senior associate at Davis & Gel-shenen LLP, Milwaukee, and continues to focus on plaintiffs’ personal injury litigation. Michael J. Ryan, Marquette 2008, has joined the firm as an associate and focuses on plaintiffs’ personal injury litigation. Leah M. 
Michaelson-Link Michael J. Ryan

    Cathleen A. 
Dettman Cathleen A. Dettmann, U.W. 2009, has joined Haley Palmersheim SC, Middleton, as an associate and focuses primarily on business law and business litigation matters.

    Howard Z. Gopman, U.W. 1965, has become of counsel to Golan & Christie LLP, Chicago, and focuses on securities law, including private placements, public offerings, securities litigation, and arbitration, general corporate law, and real estate law.

    Jason J. Kelroy, U.W. 1998, has been promoted to vice president and associate general counsel at Kohl’s Department Stores, Menomonee Falls.

    Michael Mahoney, North Dakota 1983, has joined the U.S. Department of Justice and is a resident legal advisor in Iraq. He previously was a Milwaukee County assistant district attorney.

    Six attorneys have joined the Wisconsin offices of Michael Best & Friedrich LLP. Jay Einerson, Marquette 2009 cum laude, Christopher M. King, Marquette 2009 magna cum laude, Mark J. Lemke, U.W. 2009, Kevin P. Rizzuto, Marquette 2009 cum laude, and Rebecca B. Scarr, Stanford 2005 with distinction, are members of the intellectual property practice group in the Milwaukee office. Scarr previously was with a firm in California. Eric F. Severson, U.W. 2009 cum laude, is with the intellectual property practice group in the Madison office.

    Sara A. Kneevers, Marquette 2009, has joined Skyberg Law Offices Inc., Manitowoc, as an associate attorney and focuses on criminal defense and family matters. Sara A. Kneevers

    Three attorneys have joined von Briesen & Roper s.c., Milwaukee. Steven L. Nelson, Marquette 1990, is a shareholder in the litigation and risk management practice group and concentrates in commercial litigation. Shay A. Agsten, Minnesota 2005 magna cum laude, and Dawn T. Lindsey, Marquette 2009, are associates with the banking, bankruptcy, business restructuring, and real estate practice group. Agsten previously was a judicial law clerk.

    Mergers, Relocations, New Offices

    Charles J. 
Hausmann John F. McNally McNally Law Offices S.C. has changed its name back to Hausmann-McNally S.C.. Charles J. Hausmann, U.W. 1971, and John F. McNally, Marquette 1971, are senior partners in the Milwaukee-based personal-injury law firm, which focuses on automobile, motorcycle, and truck accident cases and wrongful death cases.

    Benjamin J. Peirce, U.W. 2006 cum laude, has formed Peirce Law Offices, 155 E. Capitol Dr., Hartland, and 3616 W. National Ave., Milwaukee, and focuses on intellectual property, civil litigation, family law, and criminal defense cases. He previously was with Quarles & Brady LLP, Milwaukee.

    Appointments, Elections

    Charles M. Denton, Michigan 1981, has been selected as cochair of the ABA Litigation Section alternative dispute resolution committee. He focuses on environmental agency enforcement defense, toxic tort and class action litigation, brownfields redevelopment, insurance coverage, and alternative dispute resolution in the Grand Rapids, Michigan office of Barnes & Thornburg LLP.

    Thor Lundgren, Minnesota 1974, has joined the board of Hufcor Inc., a manufacturer of partitions. Lundgren is with the Milwaukee office of Michael Best & Friedrich LLP and focuses on corporate law, business transactions and finance, and debt and equity restructuring and financing.

    Timothy F. Nixon, U.W. 1990, has been appointed by the Wisconsin Supreme Court to the court’s preliminary review committee. He is a shareholder and team leader of the business finance and restructuring practice group with the Green Bay office of Godfrey & Kahn S.C.

    The Hon. Stephanie Rothstein, Marquette 1984, has been appointed to the Milwaukee County Circuit Court and is currently assigned to the Juvenile Division. She previously was a Milwaukee County assistant district attorney. Stephanie 

    Authors, Speakers

    Gordon Leech Gordon Leech, Pittsburgh 1990, spoke at the 18th Annual Consumer Rights Litigation Conference in Philadelphia about Fair Credit Reporting Act claims. He recently joined Rose & DeJong, Milwaukee, as a shareholder and represents individuals in consumer and employment matters.

    John Neuenschwander, Chicago-Kent 1983, has authored A Guide to Oral History and the Law (Oxford Univ. Press 2009). He is emeritus professor of history at Carthage College, Kenosha, and a Kenosha municipal judge.

    Awards, Degrees, Honors

    Lisle W. Blackbourn, Marquette 1982, has been certified as a civil trial specialist by the National Board of Trial Advocacy. He is managing partner with Godfrey, Leibsle, Blackbourn & Howarth S.C., Elkhorn, focusing on business, land use, and personal injury litigation. Lisle W. 

    Two attorneys were among the 2009 recipients of the Governor’s Awards in Support of the Arts. The Richard and Ethel Herzfeld Foundation and its president, F. William Haberman, Harvard 1985, were honored in the arts organization category. He is a partner in the wealth planning services group of Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, Milwaukee. G. Lane Ware, U.W. 1965, was honored in the individual leadership category for his work supporting the arts in Wausau and statewide.

Hernandez-Malaby Cristina Hernandez-Malaby, Harvard 1995, has been named Latina Attorney of the Year by the Hispanic National Bar Association. She is a member of the commercial litigation group in the Milwaukee office of Quarles & Brady LLP and focuses on complex litigation.

    In Memoriam

    Hon. Paul C. Gartzke, Harvard 1952, Madison, Oct. 6, 1927 – Sept. 25, 2009.

    Thomas L. O’Neil, U.W. 1973, Johnson Creek, Jan. 13, 1947 – Sept. 6, 2009.

    Donald J. Tikalsky, Marquette 1951, Waukesha, June 18, 1924 – Sept. 10, 2009.