Sign In
Rotunda Report
  • Rotunda Report
    July 12, 2013

    Wisconsin Judges to Join Committee of Chief Judges

    July 12, 2013 – The Wisconsin Supreme Court has appointed new and returning judges to serve as chiefs of the Committee of Chief Judges and the Court of Appeals, with the new appointments taking effect Aug. 1, 2013.

    The chief judges are charged with helping the Supreme Court “oversee administrative matters in circuit courts statewide and in the Court of Appeals’ four districts.” There are 10 chief circuit court judges, one from each of the state’s 10 judicial administrative districts.

    Among the new appointees is Chief Judge Mary K. Wagner, who previously served as the chief judge of District Two, presiding over Racine, Kenosha and Walworth counties. She will now act as the “chief of chiefs,” serving as the committee’s chair for the next year.  Wagner has had a diverse career, doing everything from teaching to serving in the state Assembly. She has been on the bench since 1991.

    Katie StenzKatie Stenz is the public affairs coordinator with the State Bar of Wisconsin. She can be reached at, or by phone at (608) 250-6145.

    Two judges have been appointed to the Committee of Chief Judges for the first time. Deputy Chief Judge James P. Daley and Judge James J. Duvall will serve on the committee, representing Districts Five and Seven. Daley will act as the chief judge of the Fifth Judicial Administrative District, which includes Dane, Rock, Green and Lafayette counties. Duvall will preside over the Seventh Judicial Administrative District, which includes Buffalo, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Richland, Trempealeau and Vernon counties. Daley has been a presiding judge in Rock County since 1998. Duvall has been on the bench in the Buffalo and Pepin County Circuit Courts since 2005.

    Three judges were reappointed to the Committee of Chief Judges.

    · Chief Judge Jeffery A. Kremers will continue to assist Milwaukee County as the chief judge of District One. Kremers has been a judge in Milwaukee County since 1992.

    · The Fourth Judicial Administrative District will retain Chief Judge Robert J. Wirtz as its chief. Wirtz’s district is comprised of Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Polk, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer and Washburn. He has been on the Fond du Lac County bench since 1999.

    · Chief Judge Scott R. Needham serves as the chief judge of District 10, which includes 13 northwestern Wisconsin counties. Needham is the presiding judge in St. Croix County.

    The court also reappointed Chief Judge Richard Brown to serve as chief judge of the District II Court of Appeals. Brown is responsible for administering the court’s four Court of Appeals' districts.


Join the conversation! Log in to comment.

News & Pubs Search

Format: MM/DD/YYYY