Press Release: News Release April 2003: State Bar election results:

State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In

News & Pubs Search

  • Press Release

    News Release April 2003: State Bar election results

    Share This:
    For Immediate Release
      CONTACT: Jason Westphal
    State Bar of Wisconsin
    (800) 444-9404, ext. 6077
    org jwestphal wisbar wisbar jwestphal org

    State Bar election results

    MADISON, April 25, 2003 - Michelle A. Behnke, of Madison's Michelle A. Behnke Attorney at Law won the race for State Bar president-elect. Behnke received 3,350 votes. Her opponent, Earl H. Munson of Boardman, Suhr, Curry & Field, Madison, received 2,286 votes. Behnke's term begins July 1 when George Burnett, Green Bay, succeeds Pat Ballman as State Bar president (Press release)

    In other State Bar elections, Dean R. Dietrich of Ruder, Ware & Michler, Wausau, was elected State Bar treasurer, defeating Grant F. Langley, Milwaukee City Attorney, 3,539 votes to 1,757 votes. D.J. Weis of Habush, Habush & Rottier, Rhinelander, defeated Beth Ermatinger Hanan of Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren, Milwaukee, for a seat on the Judicial Council, 2,727 votes to 2,408 votes. Those elected to serve on the State Bar Board of Governors are:

    • District 1: Donald E. Mayew Kenosha (Press release)
    • District 2: James M. Brennan, Barbara L. Burbach, Gwendolyn G. Connolly, William J. Domina, D. Michael Guerin, John W. Hein, and Elaine E. Richards, all of Milwaukee (Press release)
    • District 3: Grant E. Birtch, Neenah (Press release)
    • District 5: G. Jeffrey George, La Crosse (Press release)
    • District 6: James L. Dunlap, Waukesha (Press release)
    • District 7: James T. Quinn, Wisconsin Rapids (Press release)
    • District 9: Kent I. Carnell, John L. Cates, and Deborah M. Smith, all of Madison (Press release)
    • District 11: Kenneth A. Knudson, Superior (Press release)
    • District 13: James G. Pouros, West Bend (Press release)
    • District 15: Robert R. Goepel, Racine (Press release)

    James G. Godlewski of Neenah is the president-elect of the Government Lawyers Division. Albert E. Wehde of Sunnyvale, Calif., is the president elect of the Nonresident Lawyers Division. Myron E. LaRowe of Reedsburg is the president-elect of the Senior Lawyers Division. Lynne Hodgkins Solomon of Madison is the president-elect of the Young Lawyers Division. The GLD president-elect serves a two-year term, all other division presidents-elect serve one-year terms. All terms begin on July 1.

    The State Bar of Wisconsin is the mandatory professional association, created by the Wisconsin Supreme Court, for attorneys who hold a law license in Wisconsin. With more than 20,000 members, the State Bar aids the courts in improving the administration of justice, provides continuing legal education for its members, and assists Wisconsin lawyers in carrying out initiatives to educate the public about the legal system.