Press Release: News Release June 2003: Commission seeks applicants for federal judgeship:

State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In

News & Pubs Search

  • Press Release

    News Release June 2003: Commission seeks applicants for federal judgeship

    Share This:
    For Immediate Release
      CONTACT: Jason Westphal
    State Bar of Wisconsin
    (800) 444-9404, ext. 6077
    org jwestphal wisbar wisbar jwestphal org

    Commission seeks applicants for federal judgeship

    MADISON, June 26, 2003 - Wisconsin's Federal Nominating Commission, a bipartisan body charged with reviewing and making recommendations for vacancies in federal judgeships and U.S. attorney positions, is accepting applications for the vacancy on the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit. The opening results from Judge John Coffey's decision to assume senior status and a reduced workload.

    The 12-member commission will recommend four to six individuals to the state's two U.S. Senators, Herb Kohl and Russ Feingold, and Congressman F. James Sensenbrenner Jr. The senators will then forward their recommendations to President Bush, who will make the final appointment. The Commission, which has been in existence in Wisconsin since 1979, was last utilized in 2001.

    Application materials will be made available on July 3, and must be returned no later than 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, July 15. All inquiries and correspondence regarding the Federal Nominating Commission should be directed to Jason Westphal, public policy & media assistant, State Bar of Wisconsin, P.O. Box 7158, Madison, WI 53707-7158. Westphal may also be reached toll-free at (800) 444-9404, ext. 6077 or via e-mail at org jwestphal wisbar wisbar jwestphal org.

    University of Wisconsin Law School Dean Kenneth Davis and incoming Marquette Law School Dean Joseph Kearney will serve as co-chairs of the panel. Other commission members include: Attys. James Brennan, Stephen Glynn, Richard Graber, James Hall Jr. and John Savage of Milwaukee; Atty. Greg Conway of Green Bay; Atty. William Curran of Mauston; Atty. Charles Curtis Jr. of Madison; Atty. John Knuteson of Racine; and Former Congressman Mark Neumann of Nashotah.