Press Release: Local Lawyers Achieve Distinction:

State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In

News & Pubs Search

  • Press Release

    Local Lawyers Achieve Distinction

    Share This:

    For Immediate Release

    CONTACT: Teresa Weidemann-Smith
    State Bar of Wisconsin
    (800) 444-9404, ext. 6025


    Nine local attorneys inducted as Wisconsin Law Foundation Fellow

    MADISON, December 2, 2004 -- The State Bar of Wisconsin has announced that eight attorneys from Milwaukee and one attorney from Mequon were inducted as Fellows of the Wisconsin Law Foundation (WLF). The attorneys were among 18 statewide nominees being honored for their help in advancing the legal profession while contributing positively to local communities.

    "Attorneys receiving this distinction are honored for their efforts in serving as role models, mentors and leaders, while also focusing on efforts to strengthen their communities" said John W. Stevens, President of the Wisconsin Law Foundation. "The behaviors of these attorneys epitomize their goodwill and support of programs that advance the highest ideals of the legal profession."

    Attorneys from Milwaukee and Mequon inducted as the Class of 2004 Fellows of the Wisconsin Law Foundation include:

    Attorney Barbara L. Burbach of Burbach & Stansbury SC
    Attorney John F. Ebbott of Legal Action of Wisconsin Inc.**
    Attorney Laurence C. Hammond, Jr. of Milwaukee and Ladish Co Inc. in Cudahy
    The Honorable Robert W. Landry, retired, Egg Harbor, formerly of Milwaukee
    Attorney William "Bill" H. Levit of Godfrey & Kahn SC **
    Attorney Maurice "Marc" J. McSweeney of Foley & Lardner LLP **
    Attorney Allen N. Rieselbach of Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren SC **

    William L. Randall, retired

    The Fellows assist the WLF in carrying out its objective of making gifts to charitable or educational programs that promote public understanding of the law, improvement of the administration of justice, or other law-related public service. Such programs have included Law-related Education including the Mock Trial high school program, Community Adolescent programs, Community Justice Task Forces and legal education publishing.

    The Fellows Class of 2004 consists of the following members: Justice William A. Bablitch, Patricia Kling Ballman, Michelle Behnke, Barbara L. Burbach, R. George Burnett, John F. Ebbott, Mark A. Frankel, Daniel L. Goelzer, Robert Hagness, Laurence C. Hammond, Hon. Robert W. Landry, William H. Levit, Jr., Maurice J. McSweeney, Marygold Melli, Gerald W. Mowris, Mark A. Pennow, William L. Randall and Allen N. Rieselbach.

    For information on the Fellows or the Wisconsin Law Foundation, contact John Daugherty, Wisconsin Law Foundation Development Director at (608) 250-6038.

    The State Bar of Wisconsin is the mandatory professional association, created by the Wisconsin Supreme Court, for attorneys who hold a law license in Wisconsin. With more than 21,000 members, the State Bar aids the courts in improving the administration of justice, provides continuing legal education for its members, and assists Wisconsin lawyers in carrying out initiatives to educate the public about the legal system.

    For more information, visit or

    Wisconsin Lawyers: Expert Advisors. Serving You.