Sign In
  • WisBar News
    April 23, 2021

    State Bar President-elect Post Goes to Margaret Hickey

    Margaret W. Hickey of Becker, Hickey & Poster S.C., Milwaukee, is the next president-elect of the State Bar of Wisconsin. Here are the results for the State Bar officer and Board of Governors' elections for 2021-22.
    Margaret Wrenn Hickey headshot

    Margaret Wrenn Hickey of Milwaukee said she plans to focus on addressing the racial inequities in our judicial and legal system, promoting diversity and inclusion in the legal profession, and improving access to justice.

    April 23, 2021 – Milwaukee lawyer Margaret Wrenn Hickey is the next president-elect of the State Bar of Wisconsin.

    In the elections ending April 23, 2021, Hickey defeated Milwaukee attorney Odalo J. Ohiku by 2,347 votes to 1,186.

    Hickey will serve a one-year term as president-elect starting July 1, 2021, before succeeding Cheryl Daniels of Madison on July 1, 2022, as State Bar president. When she succeed Daniels, Hickey will be the fourth consecutive woman to serve in that role, a first in State Bar history.

    Hickey, who is currently on the State Bar Board of Governors, also served five terms on the board since 2005, representing District 2 (Milwaukee). She has also served as board chair (2006-07) and State Bar treasurer (2009-11). A partner in the five-lawyer firm of Becker, Hickey & Poster S.C., Hickey has also served on various committees, including the Executive and Finance committees.

    Hickey said she appreciates the confidence that State Bar members have placed in her. "I will work very hard on behalf of all members," she said. "We have learned in this past year that we can pivot when needed."

    "The Bar must be as flexible and responsive as we can be to our members. We must support younger members to develop into capable, ethical attorneys; promote diversity, equity and inclusion across our membership and in the justice system; and increase access to justice in Wisconsin," Hickey said. "As president-elect I will work diligently and passionately to achieve these goals."

    Visit to learn more about Hickey.

    Elizabeth Reeths headshot

    Elizabeth Reeths of Wausau wins treasurer post.

    Margo Kirchner headshot

    Margo S. Kirchner of Milwaukee elected as Judicial Council representative.

    In Other State Bar Races

    Elizabeth Reeths of Klinner Kramer Shull LLP, Wausau, was elected to a two-year term as treasurer, defeating Anu Chudasama of Bassford Remele, Minneapolis, by 2,427 votes to 912. Learn more about Reeths.

    Winning a three-year term as Judicial Council representative is Margo S. Kirchner with Wisconsin Justice Institute Inc., Milwaukee, defeating Samuel C. Hall Jr. of Crivello Carlson, S.C., Milwaukee, by 2,202 votes to 1,070. Learn more about Kirchner.

    Board of Governors

    Those elected to serve two-year terms beginning July 1 as district representatives on the State Bar Board of Governors are:

    District 1 (one vacancy)

    District 2 (seven vacancies)

    District 3 (one vacancy)

    District 5 (one vacancy)

    • Emily G. Loe, Hale, Skemp, Hanson, Skemp & Sleik, La Crosse, Marquette 2019

    District 6 (one vacancy)

    • John P. Macy, Municipal Law & Litigation Group S.C., Waukesha, Marquette 1980

    District 7 (one vacancy)

    • Stephen W. Sawyer, Law Offices of Stephen W. Sawyer, Stevens Point, Notre Dame 1996

    District 9 (three vacancies)

    District 11 (one vacancy)

    District 13 (one vacancy)

    District 15 (one vacancy)

    More about State Bar Board of Governors' Elections

    The Board of Governors is the State Bar's policymaking body. Governors serve two-year terms.

    Districts 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15 elected governors in 2021. District 2 (Milwaukee) elected seven; District 9 (Dane) elected three; and all other districts elected one.

    Not sure which district is yours? See the district map.

    Division Elections: Who Will Represent You in Your Division?

    Each of the State Bar of Wisconsin divisions – Government, Nonresident, Senior, and Young lawyers – choose new leaders for the upcoming term that begins July 1, 2021. Here are the newly elected and re-elected division officers and board members.

    The presidents-elect serve a one-year term before becoming president and then serve one year as past president. Secretary, treasurer, and board positions are two-year terms.

    Government Lawyers Division

    President-elect: Alli Welch, Green Bay

    Treasurer: Robert Barrington, Juneau

    Secretary: Meighan Anger, Milwaukee

    Directors: Ellen Craker, Superior; Dawn Klockow, Beaver Dam; Patricia Zamba, Janesville.

    Nonresident Lawyers Division

    President-elect: Kene Okocha, Washington, D.C.

    Directors: Paulina Fernandez, Texas; Ann Heaps, Texas; Daneka Hill, Minnesota; Emily Kelchen, New Jersey; Mike McCaskey, Illinois; Jenny Thomas, California.

    Senior Lawyers Division

    President-elect: Michael May, Madison

    Treasurer: Steven Sorenson, Oshkosh

    Secretary: Jean Baker, Milwaukee

    Directors: Katja Kunzke, Madison; Randall Nash, Milwaukee; Gerald O’Brien, Stevens Point; James Reiher, Brookfield (one-year term, completing term for open seat left by Baker’s election to secretary)

    Young Lawyers Division

    President-elect: Jose Castro, Milwaukee

    Treasurer: Anthony Procaccio, Milwaukee

    Directors: Nadia Gonzalez, Madison; Riley Leonard, Madison; Stephanie LeRoy, Madison; Jenny Thomas, San Diego, California; Tiffany Woelfel, Green Bay.


Join the conversation! Log in to leave a comment.

News & Pubs Search

Format: MM/DD/YYYY