WisBar News: State Bar President-elect Post Goes to Jill Kastner:

State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In

News & Pubs Search

  • WisBar News

    State Bar President-elect Post Goes to Jill Kastner

    Share This:
    Jill M. Kastner of Legal Action of Wisconsin Inc., Milwaukee, is the next president-elect of the State Bar of Wisconsin. Find out results for State Bar officer and Board of Governors' elections.
    Jill Kastner

    Jill M. Kastner wins president-elect post.

    April 27, 2018 – Jill M. Kastner of Legal Action of Wisconsin Inc., Milwaukee, is the next president-elect of the State Bar of Wisconsin.

    In the elections ending April 27, 2018, Kastner defeated Randall L. Nash of Nash Law LLC, Milwaukee, by 3,080 votes to 2,117.

    Kastner will serve a one-year term as president-elect beginning July 1, before succeeding Christopher E. Rogers as State Bar president on July 1, 2019.

    “I am truly humbled by the honor of being elected to serve the State Bar and its members,” Kastner said. “I am eager to get to work advocating for lawyers, providing quality benefits that improve the lives of our members, promoting diversity and inclusion, and improving access to justice.”

    Kastner is the first female State Bar president-elect in a decade; the last is Diane Diel of Milwaukee, who served as State Bar president 2008-2009.

    “I look forward to when it’s not unusual for women and people of color to be in the State Bar’s top leadership positions,” Kastner said.

    See more information about Kastner.

    Starlyn Tourtillott

    Starlyn R. Tourtillott wins secretary post.

    Margo Kirchner

    Margo Kirchner elected as Judicial Council representative

    In Other State Bar Races

    Starlyn R. Tourtillott of Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin - Legal Services Department, Keshena, was elected to a two-year term as secretary, defeating Makda Fessahaye of the Wisconsin Department of Corrections, Madison, by 2,829 votes to 2,046.

    Winning a three-year term as Judicial Council representative is Margo S. Kirchner of Wisconsin Justice Initiative Inc., Milwaukee, defeating John R. Orton of Curran, Hollenbeck & Orton S.C., Mauston, by 2,773 votes to 2,285.

    Board of Governors

    Those elected to serve two-year terms beginning July 1 as district representatives on the State Bar Board of Governors are:

    District 2 (five vacancies)

    District 4 (one vacancy)

    District 6 (two vacancies)

    District 8 (one vacancy)

    District 9 (four vacancies)

    District 10 (one vacancy)

    District 12 (one vacancy)

    District 14 (one vacancy)

    District 16 (one vacancy)

    • Amanda J. Ley, State Public Defenders Office, Wausau, Washington College of Law, American University 2011

    About the Election for the State Bar Board of Governors

    The Board of Governors is the State Bar's policymaking body. Governors serve two-year terms.

    Districts 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 12, 14, and 16 elected governors in 2018. District 2 (Milwaukee) elected five; District 6 (Waukesha) elected two; District 9 (Dane) elected four; and all other districts elected one.

    Not sure which district is yours? See the district map.

    Persons elected take office July 1, 2018.