Sign In
  • WisBar News
    December 15, 2017

    Candidates Named for President-elect, Secretary, and Judicial Council

    The 2018 State Bar of Wisconsin officer candidates represent Wisconsin from Keshena to Mauston, to Madison and Milwaukee. They are “outstanding, diverse, and committed to the profession,” says State Bar President-elect Chris Rogers.

    Jill Kastner 

    Jill M. Kastner

    Randall Nash

    Randall L. Nash

    Makda Fessahaye  

    Makda Fessahaye

    Starlyn R. Tourtillott  

    Starlyn R. Tourtillott

    Margo S. Kirchner  

    Margo S. Kirchner

    John R. Orton  

    John R. Orton

    Dec. 15, 2017 – Jill M. Kastner and Randall L. Nash have accepted nominations to run for 2018 State Bar of Wisconsin president-elect. Kastner is with Legal Action of Wisconsin in Milwaukee, and Nash is with Nash Law LLC, Milwaukee.

    The president-elect serves a one-year term before becoming president.

    The nominees for secretary are Makda Fessahaye, Wisconsin Department of Corrections, Madison; and Starlyn R. Tourtillott, Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin Legal Services Department, Keshena. The secretary serves a two-year term.

    The candidates for Judicial Council representative are Margo S. Kirchner of Wisconsin Justice Initiative, Milwaukee; and John R. Orton of Curran, Hollenbeck & Orton S.C., Mauston. The Judicial Council representative serves three years.

    “Based on the candidates’ talent and commitment to bettering the profession, the State Bar will be in good hands,” said State Bar President-elect Chris Rogers, chair of the Nomination Committee.

    Rogers encourages State Bar members to reach out and get to know these candidates. “I believe you will be impressed,” he said. “This group reflects the future of the State Bar.”

    The candidates are nominated by the State Bar Nomination Committee. Committee members were appointed by State Bar President Paul Swanson for the State Bar’s April 2018 election cycle. Members are:

    • State Bar President-elect Chris Rogers, chair, Madison
    • Bruce Brovold, Arcadia
    • Diane Diel, Milwaukee
    • State Bar Secretary Mary Lynne Donohue, Sheboygan
    • Kristen Hardy, Milwaukee

    State Bar members can also run for an officer position by filing a petition signed by 100 active State Bar members. The deadline to submit a petition is Feb. 1, 2018. For more information and to receive a petition, contact Jan Marks at (608) 250-6106, or (800) 444-9404, ext. 6106.

    Candidates Needed for Board of Governors and Division Leadership Positions

    Consider contributing your time and expertise as a Board of Governors’ representative or Government, Nonresident, or Young Lawyers Division leader. Leaders of all experience levels are welcome.

    Look for Your Election Ballots in April

    The State Bar will mail election ballots no later than April 13, 2018, and they must be returned by April 27, 2018.

    Persons elected will take office July 1, 2018.

Join the conversation! Log in to leave a comment.

News & Pubs Search

Format: MM/DD/YYYY