Sign In
  • WisBar News
    April 28, 2017

    State Bar President-elect Post Goes to Christopher Rogers

    Christopher E. Rogers, with Habush Habush & Rottier S.C., Madison, is the next president-elect of the State Bar of Wisconsin. Find out election results for State Bar officer, Board of Governors, and Divisions.

    April 28, 2017 – Christopher E. Rogers of Habush Habush & Rottier S.C., Madison, is the next president-elect of the State Bar of Wisconsin.

    Paul G. Swanson

    Christopher E. Rogers wins president-elect post.

    In the elections ending April 28, 2017, Rogers defeated Jon P. Axelrod of DeWitt Ross & Stevens S.C., Madison, by 2,521 votes to 2,423.

    Rogers will serve a one-year term as president-elect, beginning July 1, before succeeding Paul Swanson as State Bar president on July 1, 2018.

    Rogers said he is honored to be elected.

    “I’m very appreciative of the trust and commitment from the membership,” Rogers said. It was a privilege to run, “particularly in a campaign with Jon – a great attorney and a great person.”

    Rogers said he is looking forward to working closely with Paul Swanson and Fran Deisinger, who will be president and past president when Rogers takes office on July 1. “I look forward to working hard for the members of the State Bar.”

    See more information about Rogers.

    John Danner 

    John Danner wins treasurer post.


    William Gleisner

    William Gleisner elected as Judicial Council representative

    In Other State Bar Races

    John Danner, of Harrold, Scrobell & Danner S.C., Minoqua, was elected to a two-year term as treasurer, defeating Dan Rinzel, of Redmon, Peyton & Braswell LLP, Mount Vernon, Virginia, by 3,810 votes to 748.

    Winning a three-year term as Judicial Council representative is William C. Gleisner III of Pitman, Kalkhoff, Sicula & Dentice S.C., Milwaukee, defeating Andrew Chevrez of Milwaukee by 2,471 votes to 2,156.

    Board of Governors

    Those elected to serve two-year terms beginning July 1 as district representatives on the State Bar Board of Governors are:

    District 1 (one vacancy)

    District 2 (seven vacancies)

    District 3 (one vacancy)

    District 5 (one vacancy)

    • Craig R. Steger, Hale, Skemp, Hanson, Skemp & Sleik, La Crosse, Ave Maria School of Law 2005

    District 6 (one vacancy)

    • Daniel P. Fay, Oakton Avenue Law Offices SC, Pewaukee, Marquette 1977

    District 7 (one vacancy)

    • Bradley A. Yanke, Anderson, O'Brien, Bertz, Skrenes & Golla LLP, Stevens Point, Marquette 2011

    District 9 (three vacancies)

    District 11 (one vacancy)

    District 13 (one vacancy)

    • Adam Y. Gerol, Ozaukee County District Attorneys Office, Port Washington, Drake University 1988

    District 15 (one vacancy)

    About the Election for the State Bar Board of Governors

    The Board of Governors is the State Bar's policymaking body. Governors serve two-year terms.

    Governors represent the district in which they work. In 2017, Districts 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15 elected governors. District 2 (Milwaukee) elected seven; District 9 (Dane) elected three; and all other districts elected one.

    Not sure which district is yours? See the district map.

    New Division Officers and Board Members Announced

    All terms begin on July 1. The presidents-elect serve a one-year term before becoming president and then serve one year as past president. The secretary and board members’ positions are two-year terms.

    Government Lawyers Division

    President-elect: Meighan M. Anger, Milwaukee
    Treasurer: Julie P. Wilson, Milwaukee
    Secretary: Judith Schmidt Lehman, De Pere

    Board members:
    Angelina Gabriele, Kenosha
    David Knaapen, Stevens Point
    Joseph M. Cardamone III, Kenosha

    Nonresident Lawyers Division

    President-elect: Kathryn Bullon, Sombra, Ontario, Canada
    Treasurer: Nilesh Patel, New York City
    Secretary: Steven Schuster, Washington, DC

    Board members:
    Amanda Ashley,, Milwaukee
    Jim Casey, Washington, DC
    Daniel Rinzel, Mount Vernon, Virginia
    Emily Kelchen, Trenton, New Jersey
    Michael McCaskey, Chicago

    Senior Lawyers Division

    Officers and board members will be announced in June.

    Young Lawyers Division

    President-elect: Chad Schimmelpfenning , Appleton
    Treasurer: Kasey Grams, Osseo

    Board members:
    Elise Libbey, Milwaukee
    Emily Stedman, Milwaukee
    Kristen Hardy, Milwaukee
    Elizabeth Rodriguez Lanzhammer, Madison
    Ben Roovers, Milwaukee

Join the conversation! Log in to leave a comment.

News & Pubs Search

Format: MM/DD/YYYY