Sign In
  • Press Release
    April 25, 2016

    Top Slot in State Bar Elections Goes to Oshkosh Attorney Paul Swanson

    Madison, WI – Paul Swanson of Steinhilber, Swanson, Mares, Marone & McDermott, Oshkosh, won the race for State Bar of Wisconsin president-elect on Friday, defeating John Danner of Harrold, Scrobell & Danner S.C., Minoqua, by a vote of 2616 to 2274.

    Swanson’s term begins July 1 when Francis Deisinger, Milwaukee, succeeds Ralph Cagle, Madison, as State Bar president.

    "I am honored at the privilege the voting members have bestowed me with the election to this office," Swanson said. “I will use every effort to encourage the delivery of value to the members for their dues and strive to make our State Bar more self-sufficient as well as efficient in its operations. I also hope to address the longstanding problems related to the funding or delivery of services to those in the state of Wisconsin that need them – both civil and criminal.”

    Katie StenzFor more information contact Katie Stenz, public relations coordinator, State Bar of Wisconsin. She can be reached at org kstenz wisbar wisbar kstenz org, or by phone at (608) 250-6025.

    In other State Bar races, Mary Lynne Donohue of Sheboygan was elected to a two-year term as secretary, defeating Ann I. Brandau of Brandau & Waltz Law Offices LLP, La Crosse, by 2,535 votes to 2,007.

    Sherry Coley of Green Bay won a three-year term as Judicial Council representative.

    Those elected to serve two-year terms as district representatives on the State Bar Board of Governors are:

    District 2

    Karen Marie Bauer, Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee Inc., Milwaukee

    Andrew J. Chevrez, Milwaukee

    Jill M. Kastner, Legal Action of Wisconsin Inc., Milwaukee

    Randy L. Nash, O’Neil, Cannon, Hollman, DeJong & Laing S.C., Milwaukee

    Amy E. Wochos, Milwaukee County Courthouse, Milwaukee

    District 4

    Jeffrey R. Wisnicky, Kewaunee County Corporation Counsel, Kewaunee

    District 6

    Kimberly K. Haines, Waukesha County Corporation Counsel, Waukesha

    Timothy T. Kay, Kay & Kay Law Firm, Brookfield

    District 8

    Deanne M. Koll, Bakke Norman S.C., Menomonie

    District 9

    Kathleen Chung, Wisconsin Department of Transportation, Madison

    Catherine Dorl, State Public Defenders Office, Madison

    Christopher B. Hughes, Stafford Rosenbaum LLP, Madison

    Christopher E. Rogers, Habush Habush & Rottier S.C., Madison

    District 10

    Charles Stertz, Outagamie County District Attorneys Office, Appleton

    District 12

    Kelly J. Mattingly, State Public Defenders Office, Janesville

    District 14            

    Byron B. Conway, Habush Habush & Rottier S.C., Green Bay

    District 16

    Amanda J. Ley, State Public Defenders Office, Wausau

    All terms begin on July 1.

Join the conversation! Log in to leave a comment.

News & Pubs Search

Format: MM/DD/YYYY