Sign In
  • WisBar News
    April 24, 2015

    State Bar President-elect Post Goes to Fran Deisinger

    Francis Deisinger

    Francis W. Deisinger

    Paul G. Swanson

    Paul G. Swanson

    Thomas W. Bertz

    Thomas W. Bertz

    April 24, 2015 – Francis W. Deisinger of Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren S.C., Milwaukee, is the next president-elect of the State Bar of Wisconsin.

    In the elections ending April 24, 2015, Deisinger defeated Kevin J. Lyons of Davis & Kuelthau S.C., Milwaukee, by 2,590 votes to 2,106.

    Deisinger will serve a one-year term as president-elect, beginning July 1, before succeeding Ralph Cagle as State Bar President.

    "I am grateful for the confidence our members have placed in me, and I look forward to working with the Board of Governors and all Wisconsin lawyers," Deisinger said. “I was very honored when the nominating committee asked me to run for president-elect of the State Bar of Wisconsin and to share the race with Kevin Lyons, a Wisconsin lawyer of the highest standard.”

    Deisinger in his campaign statement said that two principles will guide him: delivering value to the members as well as addressing the needs of today, and service to the cause of justice.

    “Having my peers actually elect me to this position is extremely humbling. I will not take the office or my obligations lightly. I want great things both for and from our profession and our members, and I will do my best to help us achieve those things,” Deisinger said.

    See more information about Deisinger here.

    In Other State Bar Races

    Paul G. Swanson of Steinhilber, Swanson, Mares, Marone & McDermott, Oshkosh, was elected to a two-year term as treasurer, defeating Timothy J. O'Brien of Bakke Norman S.C., New Richmond, by 2,412 votes to 1,985.

    Winning a three-year term as Judicial Council representative by 2,560 votes to 1,771 was Thomas W. Bertz of Anderson, O'Brien, Bertz, Skrenes & Golla LLP, Stevens Point, against Joseph M. Russell of von Briesen & Roper S.C., Milwaukee

    18 Governors Elected

    Those elected to serve two-year terms beginning July 1 as district representatives on the State Bar Board of Governors are:

    District 1

    • Steven C. Harvey, Wassel, Harvey & Schuk LLP, Delavan, Marquette 1993 [Statement]

    District 2 (seven vacancies)

    • Daniel J. Blinka, Godfrey & Kahn SC, Milwaukee, U.W. 2005 [Statement]

    • Milton L. Childs Sr., State Public Defenders Office, Milwaukee, Marquette 2003 [Statement]

    • Michael J. Cohen, Meissner Tierney Fisher & Nichols SC, Milwaukee, Marquette 1986 [Statement]

    • Hannah C. Dugan, Law Offices of Hannah C. Dugan LLC, Milwaukee, U.W. 1987 [Statement]

    • Martin P. Gagne, Gagne & O'Halloran LLC, Milwaukee, Boston University 1981 [Statement]

    • Gregg M. Herman, Loeb & Herman SC, Milwaukee, U.W. 1977 [Statement]

    • Nicholas C. Zales, Zales Law Office, Milwaukee, Marquette 1989 [Statement]

    District 3 (one vacancy)

    • Peggy A. Lautenschlager, Lautenschlager Law Office, Fond du Lac, U.W. 1980 [Statement]

    District 5 (one vacancy)

    • Bruce J. Brovold, Kostner, Koslo & Brovold LLC, Arcadia, U.W. 1975 [Statement]

    District 6 (one vacancy)

    • Daniel P. Fay, Oakton Avenue Law Offices SC, Pewaukee, Marquette 1977 [Statement]

    District 7 (one vacancy)

    • John R. Orton, Curran, Hollenbeck & Orton SC, Mauston, Marquette 1981 [Statement]

    District 9 (three vacancies)

    • Truscenialyn Brooks, Perkins Coie LLP, Madison, U.W. 2011 [Statement]

    • Douglas S. Buck, Foley & Lardner LLP, Madison, U.W. 1993 [Statement]

    • Jeff A. Goldman, DeWitt Ross & Stevens SC, Madison, U.W. 2003 [Statement]

    District 11 (one vacancy)

    • Howard J. Bichler, St. Croix Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin, Webster, Marquette 1976 [Statement]

    District 13 (one vacancy)

    • Robert G. Barrington, Dodge County District Attorney's Office, Beaver Dam, U.W. 2007 [Statement]

    District 15 (one vacancy)

    • Kelly L. Mould, Johnson Bank, Racine, U.W. 2011 [Statement]

    The Board of Governors is the State Bar's policymaking body, managing and directing the affairs and activities of the State Bar. In 2015, Districts 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15 elected governors. The number of positions varies by district: District 2 (Milwaukee) elects seven; District 6 (Waukesha) elects one; District 9 (Dane) elects three; and all other districts elect one.

    If you are unsure which district you belong to, view the district map. Candidates, along with bios and statements, are listed on WisBar.

Join the conversation! Log in to leave a comment.

News & Pubs Search

Format: MM/DD/YYYY