Sign In
  • WisBar News
    September 30, 2014

    Justice Bradley Reminds New Lawyers Support the Crown Jewel of Democracy

    alt text

    Madelene Cohen, Los Angeles, signs the Supreme Court roll. Every attorney admitted to the State Bar of Wisconsin since the state was a territory has signed the roll.

    Kristi Renee Baker and family

    New attorney Kristi Renee Baker (second from left) pauses with her family for a photo at the State Bar-sponsored reception following the swearing-in ceremony.

    Oliver M. Bauer

    Oliver M. Bauer stands as his dad, Michael Bauer, Sheboygan, moves his admission to the State Bar.

    Visit the State Bar of Wisconsin’s Facebook page for more photos of this event, or click here.

    Sept. 30, 2014 – Surrounded by family and friends, 59 lawyers who passed the bar exam were admitted to practice in Wisconsin yesterday. In July, 175 people took the bar exam representing 70 law schools and 30 jurisdictions; 75 percent passed.

    The lawyers were welcomed by Supreme Court Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson and justices Ann Walsh Bradley, N. Patrick Crooks, David T. Prosser Jr., Patience D. Roggensack, Annette Ziegler and Michael Gableman; Board of Bar Examiners Director Jacquelynn Rothstein; and State Bar President Robert R. Gagan.

    Justice Bradley focused her comments on the U.S. Constitution, the role of the judiciary in the rule of law, and the role of lawyers to support the Constitution and maintain public trust and confidence in the judicial system.

    She recalled former Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court William Rehnquist’s comments in reflecting upon the Constitution and upon the role of the early courts, “I believe that the creation of independent constitutional courts with the authority to declare unconstitutional laws passed by the state or federal legislatures is probably the most significant single contribution the United States has made to the art of government.” 

    “He was speaking about the vital role of the independent judiciary in our Constitutional system,” she said. “It has become fundamental to the checks and balanced structure of our government. The rule of law is critical ingredient of our success as a nation, and it is protected by an independent judiciary. Our founders gave special jobs to judges to be guardians of the Constitution and decide cases based on the facts of the law – Chief Justice Rehnquist called the courts the crown jewel of democracy.”

    “The courts need your help,” Bradley told the new lawyers that with the benefit a legal education and the privilege to practice law comes the responsibility to make sure that “when an independent judiciary is threatened your voices are not silent.”

    She encouraged them to maintain public trust and confidence without becoming subservient to public opinion and political pressure.

    Following the swearing-in ceremonies, Justice Bradley spoke to the new lawyers.

    The State Bar welcomes the following new attorneys:

    Scott Thomas Allen, Milwaukee

    Abbey Anderson, Iron Mountain, Mich.

    Kristi Renee Baker, Madison

    Oliver M. Bauer, Sheboygan

    Grant Aric Beardsley, Eau Claire

    William Bortz, Milwaukee

    Brian C. Bultman, Madison

    Matthew Carlton, Milwaukee

    Madelene Cohen, Los Angeles

    Trevor Currie, Milwaukee

    James Davies, Racine

    Kelly S. Fisher, Oshkosh

    Jeremy Gay, Batavia, Ill.

    Louis Francis Glinzak, Lowell, Mich.

    David M. Golub, Milwaukee

    Hannah N. Gonya, Marinette

    Danielle L. Hensley, New Berlin

    Matthew Hoenig, Greendale,

    John William Hoffmeyer IV, Iowa City, Iowa

    Kristin J. Holmes, Kingsford, Mich.

    Tram Huynh, Madison

    Isaac Jalkanen, Paw Paw

    Ashley C. Johnson, Milwaukee

    Laura Marie Julien, Chicago

    Ari B. Kasper, Milwaukee

    George David Kidd, Milwaukee

    Kevin J. Kohler, New Berlin

    John Kramp, Milwaukee

    Kyle Kundert, New Glarus

    Elizabeth Rodriguez Lanzhammer, Madison

    Matthew Jerome Limoges, Lakeville, Minn.

    Chad Lynch, Waterford

    Tracy L. McMiller, Fort Atkinson

    Erin F. Medeiros, Milwaukee

    Denise Louise Morris, Mequon

    William Joseph Morris, Cudahy

    Ryan A. Ogren, Milwaukee

    Ryan Pagel, Stevens Point

    Katherine Paige, Madison

    Daniel John Phipps, Hayward

    Laura Populin, Milwaukee

    Ryan Prochaska, Lakeview, Minn.

    Colette Catherine Reinke, Hartford

    Megan Sanders-Drazen, Madison

    Samuel J. Sarver, De Pere

    Alyssa M. Schaller, Milwaukee

    Sarah Rachel Schenck, Milwaukee

    Jeff Schultz, Madison

    Conrad Soboniak, Cedarburg

    Whitney J. Spahn, Green Bay

    Samuel J. Spurney, Manitowoc

    Mary E. Stahler, Manitowoc

    Andrew Stevens, Manitowoc

    Ray Allen Stone, Mansfield, Ohio

    David Brian Tibbals, West Fargo, N.D.

    Desiree Toldt, Middleton

    Kayla Van Effen, Hudson

    Y. Douglas Yang, Milwaukee

    Sheila M. Yohnk, Galesville

    Visit the State Bar of Wisconsin’s Facebook page for more photos of this event, or click here.

Join the conversation! Log in to leave a comment.

News & Pubs Search

Format: MM/DD/YYYY