Sign In
  • Press Release
    April 28, 2014

    Top Slot in State Bar Elections Goes to Madison Attorney Ralph Cagle

    Madison, WI – Ralph M. Cagle, attorney with Hurley, Burish & Stanton S.C., Madison, won the race for State Bar president-elect Friday evening, defeating Kevin J. Palmersheim of Haley Palmersheim S.C., Madison, by a vote of 3,495 to 1,973.

    Cagle’s term begins July 1 when Robert R. Gagan, Green Bay, succeeds Patrick J. Fiedler as State Bar president.

    "I am grateful for this opportunity to serve the needs and aspirations of Wisconsin lawyers," said Cagle. "I will do my all to vigorously advance our profession's ideals, to assist our members in their work and lives, and to fulfill our public responsibilities as lawyers," said Cagle.

    In other State Bar races, Sherry D. Coley, Godfrey & Kahn S.C., Green Bay, was elected to a two-year term as secretary, defeating Matthew J. Duchemin, Quarles & Brady LLP, Madison, by a vote of 3,161 to 1,700.

    William C. Gleisner, Law Office of William C. Gleisner in Hartland, won a three-year term as Judicial Council representative.

    Andrea GageFor more information contact Attorney Andrea Gage, public relations coordinator, State Bar of Wisconsin. She can be reached at org agage wisbar wisbar agage org, or by phone at (608) 250-6025.

    Those elected to serve two-year terms as district representatives on the State Bar Board of Governors are:

    District 2

    John A. Birdsall, Birdsall Law Offices S.C., Milwaukee
    Andrew J. Chevrez, Milwaukee
    Jill M. Kastner, Legal Action of Wisconsin Inc., Milwaukee
    Randy L. Nash, O'Neil, Cannon, Hollman, DeJong & Laing S.C., Milwaukee
    Amy E. Wochos, Milwaukee County Courthouse, Milwaukee

    District 4

    Jeffrey R. Wisnicky, Kewaunee County Corporation Counsel, Kewaunee

    District 6

    Kimberly K. Haines, Waukesha County Corporation Counsel, Waukesha
    Sarah A. Ponath, Law Offices of Sarah A. Ponath LLC, Brookfield

    District 8

    Deanne M. Koll, Bakke Norman S.C., Menomonie

    District 9

    Catherine J. Dorl, State Public Defenders Office, Madison
    Anthony J. Gray, Institute for Global Ethics, Madison
    Christopher E. Rogers, Habush Habush & Rottier S.C., Madison
    Laura Skilton Verhoff, Stafford Rosenbaum LLP, Madison

    District 10

    Thomas P. Schwaba, Schwaba & Sparks LLP, Marinette

    District 12

    Kelly J. Mattingly, State Public Defenders Office, Janesville

    District 14

    Byron B. Conway, Habush Habush & Rottier S.C., Green Bay

    District 16

    John E. Danner, Harrold, Scrobell & Danner S.C., Minocqua

    The Government, Nonresident, Senior, and Young Lawyers division elections were held electronically. The division election results will be posted to early next week.

    All terms begin on July 1.

News & Pubs Search

Format: MM/DD/YYYY