Sign In
  • InsideTrack
  • November 19, 2014

    Sixty-four New Fellows Welcomed to Law Foundation, Celebrating Stephen Hurley as Goldberg Award Recipient

    Stephen Hurley and Mark Pennow

    (From left) Madison attorney Stephen Hurley receives the Charles L. Goldberg Distinguished Service Award from Wisconsin Law Foundation President Mark Pennow.

    Charles N. Clevert Jr. and Paul Swanson

    (From left) Guest speaker Hon. Charles N. Clevert Jr., U.S. District Court Eastern District, with Fellow Paul Swanson.

    Rebecca Oettinger

    Rebecca Oettinger of Baraboo is welcomed into the 2014 Class of Fellows.

    Visit the State Bar of Wisconsin’s Facebook page for more photos of this event, or click here.

    Nov. 19, 2014 – The Fellows of the Wisconsin Law Foundation annual black tie event drew a crowd of more than 140 from across the state. Members and their family members gathered to welcome 64 new Fellows into the Class of 2014.

    Madison attorney Stephen P. Hurley received the Wisconsin Law Foundation Charles L. Goldberg Distinguished Service Award for a lifetime of service to the profession and the community, and Hon. Charles N. Clevert Jr., U.S. District Court Eastern District, was the featured speaker. Both men focused their comments on the importance of mentors for new attorneys and the responsibility for lawyers to give back to society.

    Clevert, who grew up in a housing project in Richmond, Va., said he was inspired to become a lawyer as a young man when he had the opportunity to see a young lawyer in court. The man was Doug Wilder, who went on to become the first African American governor of Virginia. To this day Wilder is his mentor and friend. “He gave back and continues to give back,” said Clevert. “With that as a motivating factor how can I not give back. Members of the Foundation continue to give back, and it makes a huge difference in lives of people in the community, the state, and throughout the nation. I applaud you and urge you to continue. Do whatever you must along life’s highway to help those who are less fortunate and encourage others who you meet along that highway to do the same.”

    Accepting the Goldberg Award, Hurley remembered a former professor who said “an obligation of a law degree is to put something back into the system, remembering that it is going to treat you very well and lawyers have that obligation.” Thanking his mentors, he said, “Nobody ever does it on their own, and were it not for mentors, I never would have made it.” Acknowledging the significant role the Foundation plays by underwriting that notion, Hurley said, “For the Bar to prosper, lawyers have to give back, and we have to leave the law a little better off than when we chose it.

    2014 Class of Fellows Inducted

    This is the 15th class inducted to the Fellows program, increasing membership to 338. Fellows are elected by the Fellows Board of Trustees. The program recognizes known by their peers for high professionalachievements and outstandingcontributions to the advancement andimprovement of the administration ofjustice in Wisconsin.

    In memory of longtime State Bar ofWisconsin and Wisconsin Law Foundation leader, G. Lane Ware, Ruder Ware provided underwriting support to defray a portion of the costs for theFellows reception and dinner. Ware passed away on June 5, 2014.

    Fellows Membership

    Fellows are State Bar of Wisconsin members who are recognized for their outstanding attainmentin professional, public, or private careers for high professional achievements and outstanding contributionsto the welfare of their community, state, and nation and the advancement and improvementof the administration of justice in Wisconsin. In addition, the Fellows commit to providingsustained financial support to furthering the mission and work of the Wisconsin Law Foundation.

    2014 Class of Fellows

    Kristin M. Bergstrom, Milwaukee

    Thomas W. Bertz, Stevens Point

    Grant E. Birtch, Neenah

    Hon. Andrew Bissonnette, Sun Prairie

    Jennifer Lynn Bolger Breceda, Milwaukee

    Nancy M. Bonniwell, Delafield

    Shannon Lee Brusda, Milwaukee

    Ralph M. Cagle, Madison

    Dawn Rachele Caldart, Milwaukee

    Mark A. Cameli, Milwaukee

    Joseph M. Cardamone, III, Kenosha

    Kent I. Carnell, Madison

    Kelly L. Centofanti, Mequon

    Kathleen Chung, Madison

    Linda S. Coyle, Waukesha

    Hon. David G. Deininger, Monroe

    Micabil (Mike) Diaz Martinez, Middleton

    Hon. Jean A. DiMotto, Greendale

    Marcia Facey Drame, Milwaukee

    Lindsey D. Draper, Wauwatosa

    Patrick J. Fiedler, Madison

    Hon. Frederic W. Fleishauer, Custer

    Matthew J. Flynn, Milwaukee

    Hon. Harold V. Froehlich, Appleton

    Robert Richard Gagan, Green Bay

    Arthur J. Harrington, Milwaukee

    John W. Hein, Milwaukee

    Janet L. Heins, Mequon

    Therese Marie Henke, Mequon

    Rebecca Wickhem House, Milwaukee

    David B. Karp, Milwaukee

    Jennifer Jill Kent, Sussex

    Mark S. Knutson, Brookfield

    Theresa Boller Laughlin, Wausau

    Maria S. Lazar, Madison

    Bruce J. Lindl, Muskego

    Amy L. Lindner, Milwaukee

    Helen M. Ludwig, West Allis

    Dennis R. McBride, Milwaukee

    Darcy E. McManus, Saukville

    Hon. James B. Mohr, Eagle River

    Cory L. Nettles, Milwaukee

    Hon. Michael N. Nowakowski, Madison

    Rebecca W. Oettinger, Baraboo

    Carlos A. Ortiz, Chicago, IL

    Michele L. Perreault, Madison

    Anne W. Reed, Milwaukee

    Michael D. Rosenberg, Madison

    Charles S. Senn, Thorp

    Hon. Michael J. Skwierawski, Milwaukee

    George H. Solveson, Milwaukee

    Hon. Maryann Sumi, Madison

    Atty. Kent A. Tess-Mattner, Brookfield

    Marna M. Tess-Mattner, Brookfield

    Joseph M. Troy, Appleton

    Gretchen G. Viney, Baraboo

    Nicholas J. Vivian, Hudson

    Hon. Timothy L. Vocke, Rhinelander

    Jennifer M. Wall, Waukesha

    Gregory Maurice Wesley, Milwaukee

    William F. White, Madison

    James D. Wickhem, Janesville

    Hon. Patrick L. Willis, Manitowoc

    Hon. Tom R. Wolfgram, Cedarburg

    Visit the State Bar of Wisconsin’s Facebook page for more photos of this event, or click here.

Join the conversation! Log in to comment.

News & Pubs Search

Format: MM/DD/YYYY