WisBar News: Klein wins State Bar president-elect post:

State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In
  • InsideTrackInsideTrack

News & Pubs Search

  • Klein wins State Bar president-elect post

    Share This:
    Kevin G. Klein

    Kevin G. Klein won the race for State Bar president-elect

    Kelly Nickel

    Kelly C. Nickel was elected treasurer

    William C. Gleisner III

    William C. Gleisner III was elected Judicial Council representative

    April 22, 2011 – Kevin G. Klein won the race for State Bar president-elect, defeating James Andrew Carney, 2,651 votes to 2,144. Klein is a sole practitioner from Phillips. His term begins July 1 when James M. Brennan, Milwaukee, succeeds James C. Boll Jr. as State Bar president.

    “I am honored to have been elected to serve and lead our State Bar lawyers,” says Klein. “I want to thank my supporters, all of the members that voted, my opponent, and the State Bar for its election efforts. I would especially like to thank my family for their efforts and support. I look forward to continuing my service to all members and working with the State Bar to maximize member participation and member benefits and services.”

    In other State Bar races, Kelly C. Nickel, Leece & Phillips S.C., Elkhorn, was elected to a two-year term as treasurer, defeating Nicholas J. Vivian, Stillwater, Minn., and Nicholas C. Zales, Milwaukee. Nickel received 1,608 votes, Vivian received 1,576, and Zales received 1,250.

    William C. Gleisner III, Law Offices of William C. Gleisner III, Milwaukee, defeated Joseph M. Cardamone III, Kenosha, and Beth Ermatinger Hanan, Milwaukee, for a three-year seat on the Judicial Council. Gleisner received 1,801 votes, Hanan received 1,712, and Cardamone 1,061.

    Those elected to serve two-year terms as district representatives on the State Bar Board of Governors are:

    District 1

    • Joseph M. Cardamone III, Kenosha County Corporation Counsel, Kenosha

    District 2

    • Andrew P. Beilfuss, Quarles & Brady LLP, Milwaukee

    • Arthur J. Harrington, Godfrey & Kahn S.C., Milwaukee

    • Margaret W. Hickey, Becker, Hickey & Poster S.C., Milwaukee

    • Lisa M. Lawless, Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek S.C., Milwaukee

    • Atheneé P. Lucas, Manpower Inc., Milwaukee

    • Theodore (T.J.)  Molinari, Birdsall Law Offices S.C., Milwaukee

    • Thomas J. Phillips, Quarles & Brady LLP, Milwaukee

    District 3

    • Jessica J. King, Compass Law S.C., Oshkosh

    District 5

    • Charles E. Hanson, Hale, Skemp, Hanson, Skemp & Sleik, La Crosse

    District 6

    • Kimberly K. Haines, Delafield Law Offices, Delafield

    District 7

    • William T. Curran, Curran, Hollenbeck & Orton S.C., Mauston

    District 9

    • Susan L. Collins, Marshall & Ilsley Trust Company NA, Madison

    • Patricia D. Struck, Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions Division of Securities, Madison

    • James S. Thiel, Wisconsin Department of Transportation Office of General Counsel, Madison

    District 11

    • Richard J. Summerfield, Kostner-Kostner & Summerfield S.C., Bloomer

    District 13

    • Frederick B. Kaftan, Law Offices of James J. Pauly, West Bend

    District 15

    • Robert R. Goepel, Goepel Law Office, Racine

    Division Elections

    The Government Lawyers Division elected three Madison attorneys to officer slots:

    • Ann Marie Molitor is president-elect. Molitor is a senior administrative law judge for the Division of Unemployment Insurance Appeals Office, Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development.
    • David H. Nispel, Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds, is secretary.
    • Kathleen Chung, Wisconsin Department of Transportation Office of General Counsel, is treasurer.

    The GLD elected the following to serve on the board:

    • Brian E. Pawlak, U.S. Attorneys Office Eastern District
    • Mary L. Schanning, West Bend City Attorneys Office
    • Miriam Rachel Horwitz, Milwaukee City Attorney’s Office

    GLD officers and directors serve two-year terms. The president-elect serves a two-year term before becoming president.

    The Nonresident Lawyers Division elected Todd R. Seelman, Grimshaw & Harring PC, Denver, president-elect. Steve Schuster is elected secretary, and David Cohen is elected treasurer. Both are from Washington, D.C. Schuster has one more year left in his current director term. Anthony J. Gray, Stratford, Conn., will complete Schuster’s term.

    The NRLD elected the following to serve two-year terms on the board of directors:

    • Thomas A. Agnello, U.S. District Court, Sioux Falls, S.D.
    • Paul E. Conrad, U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Washington, D.C.
    • Donna M. Jones, Law Office of Donna M. Jones, Austell, Ga.
    • Nicole Klassen, Board of Veterans’ Appeals, Washington, D.C.
    • Glenn M. Salvo, Dorsey & Whitney LLP, Minneapolis, Minn.

    Thomas J. Drought, Cook & Franke S.C., Milwaukee, will serve as president-elect of the Senior Lawyers Division.

    In the Young Lawyers Division race, Lee D. Turonie, Shawano, defeated Theodore (T.J.) Molinari, Milwaukee, 463 votes to 307.

    All terms begin July 1.