Sign In
  • InsideTrack
  • March 16, 2022

    Elections: Who Will Represent You on the State Bar Board of Governors?

    With the April elections approaching, now is the time to learn about those candidates who are asking for your vote to lead the State Bar of Wisconsin as governors.
    ballot box

    March 16, 2022 – In April, State Bar of W​isconsin members will vote for representatives on the State Bar’s Board of Governors, the organization's policymaking body. Governors serve two-year terms. Your vote for these candidates will make a difference in the future of your practice and your profession.

    Districts 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 12, 14, and 16 will elect governors in 2022. District 2 (Milwaukee) will elect five; District 6 (Waukesha) will elect two; District 9 (Dane County) will elect four; and all other districts will elect one.

    Vote in April: Look for Your Email Ballot

    All State Bar elections (including for State Bar divisions and sections) will be held via an electronic ballot in 2022. Ballots are emailed by the second week in April, and the election closes at noon Central Time on April 22, 2022.

    The State Bar has partnered with Survey & Ballot Systems (SBS) to administer the 2022 election. To ensure you receive your State Bar election email ballot, add as an approved sender in your inbox before April 1. This prevents the ballot from being identified as spam. If you do not receive your election email by April 8, 2022, contact

    Please note: If you have placed any holds on emails from the State Bar, you may not receive an electronic ballot. Contact Customer Service at (800) 444-9404 to verify that your account is set up to receive your email ballot. State Bar members with no email address on file will receive paper ballots, which will be mailed Wednesday, April 6, 2022.

    State Bar Officer Elections

    State Bar members will elect a president-elect, secretary​, and Judicial Council representative. For more information, see the State Bar Officer Candidates page on

    State Bar Division Elections

    Members of three State Bar divisions will elect officers and representatives for their division this spring. For more information on division elections and the candidates, see divisions elections information in the divisions page on

    State Bar Section Elections

    Members of the seven ​State Bar sections with contested elections will elect officers and directors for the upcoming term. For more information on section candidates, see the section elections page on

    Find out about other State Bar leadership opportunities through divisions, sections, and committees.

    Candidates for the Board of Governors

    Meet the State Bar Board of Governors’ candidates for two-year terms that begin July 1, 2022. Together, they represent a diversity of practice areas as well as years in practice, and come from across the state. By district, the candidates are:​​

    District 2 (five vacancies)

    • Ryan M. Billings, Kohner, Mann & Kailas S.C., Milwaukee, Harvard Law School, 2004
    • Randal J. Brotherhood, Meissner Tierney Fisher & Nichols S.C., Milwaukee, Washington University School of Law, 1981
    • Lisa M. Lawless, Husch Blackwell LLP, Milwaukee, Indiana University-Bloomington Maurer School of Law, 1992
    • Felicia L. Owen, Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Milwaukee, Marquette University Law School, 2021
    • Nicholas C. Zales, Zales Law Office, Milwaukee, Marquette University Law School, 1989

    District 4 (one vacancy)

    • Julie F. Stodolka, Plymouth, University of California-Los Angeles School of Law, 1987

    District 6 (two vacancies)

    • Alexandra K. Evans, Hippenmeyer, Reilly, Blum, Schmitzer, Fabian & English S.C., Waukesha, Marquette University Law School, 2021
    • AnnMarie M. Sylla, Schott, Bublitz & Engel S.C., Waukesha, New England School of Law, 2013

    District 8 (one vacancy)

    • Gregory J. Banchy, Banchy Law Center LLC, Eau Claire, Marquette University Law School, 1987

    District 9 (four vacancies)

    • Elizabeth A. Fernandez, Wisconsin Education Association Council, Madison, University of Wisconsin Law School, 2001
    • C. Kai Hovden, DeWitt LLP, Madison, University of Wisconsin Law School, 2017
    • Mitch, University of Wisconsin Law School, Madison, University of Wisconsin Law School, 2003
    • Sarah A. Zylstra, Boardman & Clark LLP, Madison, University of Wisconsin Law School, 1998

    District 10 (one vacancy)

    • Starlyn R. T. Miller, Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin, Keshena, University of Wisconsin Law School, 2008

    District 12 (one vacancy)

    • Shanna M. Sanders, State Public Defenders Office, Janesville, University of Wisconsin Law School, 2011

    District 14 (one vacancy)

    • Rachel E. Maes, City of Green Bay, Hamline University School of Law, 2014

    District 16 (one vacancy)

    • Lawrence J. Wiesneske, O'Melia, Schiek & McEldowney S.C., Rhinelander, University of Wisconsin Law School, 1982

Join the conversation! Log in to comment.

News & Pubs Search

Format: MM/DD/YYYY