Sign In

Charles L. Goldberg Distinguished Service Award Recipients

​​​​​The Charles L. Goldberg Distinguished Service Award is presented to a member of the State Bar of Wisconsin who has a long-standing record of service both to the legal profession and to the public. The award is presented at the Annual Fellows Recognition Dinner.

Year Awarded
Award Recipient​
​Michelle A. Behnke, Madison​
2021Steven R. Sorenson, Neenah
2020Joseph W. Boucher, Madison
2019Hon. Carl Ashley, Milwaukee
Earl H. Munson, Jr., Madison
2018Dean R. Dietrich, Wausau
2017Governor James E. Doyle, Jr., Madison
Governor Anthony S. Earl, Madison*
Governor Martin J. Schreiber, Milwaukee
Governor Tommy G. Thompson, Madison
2016Hon. Ness Flores, Waukesha
John S. Skilton, Madison
2015Barbara B. Crabb, Madison
2014Stephen Hurley, Madison
2013John Doar, New York*
2012James D. Friedman, Milwaukee
2011Donald L. Bach, Madison
2010David G. Walsh, Madison
2009Charles Hanson, La Crosse
2008Jeffrey B. Bartell, Madison
2007Dan Hildebrand, Milwaukee*
Edward M. McCann, Milwaukee
2006 (No award presented)​​
2005 (No award presented)
2004Richard L. Cates, Madison*
G. Lane Ware, Wausau*
2003Donald L. Heaney, Madison*
2002Howard B. Eisenberg, Milwaukee*
2001Frank M. Gimbel, Milwaukee*
2000Truman Q. McNulty, Milwaukee*
1999Gerald M. O'Brien, Stevens Point
1998Ben L. Chernov, Milwaukee*
1997Philip S. Habermann, Madison*
1996Justice Nathan S. Heffernan, Madison*
Frank J. Remington, Madison*
1995Francis J. Wilcox, Eau Claire*
1994Hon. Patrick T. Sheedy, Milwaukee*
1993Margadette Demet, Milwaukee
1992Jack R. DeWitt, Madison*
1991Rodney O. Kittelsen, Monroe*
1990George K. Steil, Sr., Janesville*
1989John A. Kluwin, Kewaskum*
1988Steven E. Keane, Milwaukee*
1987Gordon Sinykin, Madison*
1986James D. Ghiardi, Milwaukee*
1985Victor A. Miller, St. Nazianz*
Dean Robert F. Boden, Milwaukee*
1984 (No award presented)
1983Robert B. L. Murphy, Madison*
1982Ralph M. Hoyt, Milwaukee*

* deceased

Who was Charles L. Goldberg?

Charles L. Goldberg

Charles L. Goldberg  

The late Charles L. Goldberg was a native of Milwaukee and received his law degree from Marquette University Law School in 1928.

Goldberg served as president of the State Bar of Wisconsin and the Milwaukee Bar Association. Goldberg won Marquette University's Distinguished Law Alumnus Award in 1972.

Goldberg was named chairman of the Fellows of the American Bar Foundation, where membership is considered a professional honor and evidence of distinction as a lawyer, judge or law teacher. He was also a member of the ABA House of Delegates and the ABA's standing committee on Constitution and Bylaws.

Leaders of the judiciary and the Bar praised him as an outstanding lawyer and pioneer in initiating free legal services for the poor.​