State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In

Top Link Bar


The State Bar of Wisconsin ensures that Wisconsin attorneys meet and maintain the highest standards of competency, technical skill and ethical conduct.  It also strives to ensure Wisconsin citizens have equal access to legal services of the highest quality, and to a system that affords prompt and fair resolution.

The State Bar of Wisconsin is g​overned by a 52-member Board of Governors, which is primarily made up of attorneys elected by the members.  The board includes the association’s five officers and the immediate past president.  The board oversees the policy making and operation of the organization.  The Executive Committee, which is led by the officers and key representatives from the board and the State Bar's divisions, is authorized to make decisions and perform the duties of the board between meetings.

The State Bar of Wisconsin staff leadership works to accomplish the goals set by the board, while managing the daily operations of the statewide organization.

Board of Governors 2015-2016  

Board of Governors 2015 - 2016 Photo Caption

Front row (from left):  Eric L. Andrews; Past President Robert R. Gagan; Chairperson of the Board Jill M. Kastner; President Ralph M. Cagle; President-elect Fran W. Deisinger; Treasurer Paul G. Swanson; Secretary Sherry Coley; Andrew J. Chevrez.

Second row (from left):  Bruce J. Brovold; Hannah C. Dugan; Toni Caldwell; Martin P. Gagne; Christine Procknow; Michael J. Cohen; Debra E. Kuper; Susan K. Miller; Miriam R. Horwitz; Kelly J. Mattingly; Amy E. Wochos; Nicholas C. Zales; John F. Wilcox; James J. Casey Jr.; Daniel F. Rinzel; Anthony J. Gray; Peggy A. Lautenschlager; Randall L. Nash; Gregg M. Herman.

Third row (from left):  Renee R. Nawrocki; Jeff Goldman; Viet-Hanh Winchell; Christopher E. Rogers; Robert G. Barrington; Kimberly K. Haines; Chuck Stertz; Benjamin E. Reyes; Sarah A. Ponath; Daniel J. Blinka.

Fourth row (from left):  Deanne M. Koll; Nilesh P. Patel; Douglas S. Buck; Steven C. Harvey; Milton L. Childs; John R. Orton; Daniel P. Fay; Thomas P. Schwaba; John E. Danner.

Missing from photo:  Howard J. Bichler; John A. Birdsall; Truscenialyn Brooks; Byron B. Conway; Catherine J. Dorl; Kelly Mould; Laura Skilton Verhoff; Leland Wigg-Ninham; Jeffrey R. Wisnicky; Vue Yang.

State Bar of Wisconsin Diversity Declaration

(Approved by the Board of Governors June 2012)

The State Bar of Wisconsin is an inclusive organization committed to recognizing, respecting, promoting and encouraging diversity among its leadership, its membership and the entire legal community. We encourage all local and specialty bars to promote diversity and inclusion in their membership and leadership. We encourage legal employers and law firms to promote diversity and inclusion within their workplaces to mirror the world in which we practice.