State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In

Top Link Bar


The State Bar of Wisconsin ensures that Wisconsin attorneys meet and maintain the highest standards of competency, technical skill and ethical conduct.  It also strives to ensure Wisconsin citizens have equal access to legal services of the highest quality, and to a system that affords prompt and fair resolution.

The State Bar of Wisconsin is governed by a 52-member Board of Governors, which is primarily made up of attorneys elected by the members.  The board includes the association’s five officers and the immediate past president.  The board oversees the policy making and operation of the organization.  The Executive Committee, which is led by the officers and key representatives from the board and the State Bar's divisions, is authorized to make decisions and perform the duties of the board between meetings.

The State Bar of Wisconsin staff leadership works to accomplish the goals set by the board, while managing the daily operations of the statewide organization.

Board of Governors 2014

Board of Governors 2013 - 2014 Photo Caption

Front row from left: President-elect Robert R. Gagan, Green Bay; Chair of the Board Sherry Coley, Green Bay; President Patrick J. Fiedler, Madison; Past President Kevin G. Klein, Phillips; Secretary Jennifer Ann Stuber, Rhinelander; Treasurer Kevin J. Lyons, Milwaukee.

Second row from left: Steven A. Levine, Madison; Andrew J. Chevrez, Milwaukee; Jill M. Kastner, Milwaukee; Robin Dalton, Wisconsin Asian Bar Association liaison; Debra E. Kuper, East Greenwich, R.I.; Toni Caldwell, Native American liaison; Joseph M. Cardamone III, Kenosha; Sarah A. Ponath, Brookfield; Adria D. Maddaleni, Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association liaison; Anique N. Ruiz, Milwaukee.

Third row from left: Richard J. Summerfield, Bloomer; Paul G. Swanson, Oshkosh; David F. Jones, Madison; Daniel F. Rinzel, Mt. Vernon, Va.; H. Charles Stahmer, Bozeman, Mont.; Todd R. Seelman, Denver, Colo.; Thomas P. Schwaba, Marinette; Robert G Barrington, Juneau; Thomas J. Phillips, Milwaukee; Susan K. Miller, Waupaca; Ronald J. Sonderhouse, Waukesha; Bruce J. Brovold, Arcadia.

Fourth row from left: Laura Skilton Verhoff, Madison; Nicholas C. Zales, Milwaukee; Brian L. Anderson, Madison; John E. Danner, Minocqua; Martin P. Gagne, Milwaukee; Ann M. Molitor, Madison; Deborah Brown Price, Waukesha.

Fifth row from left: Michael J. Cohen, Milwaukee; Brett H. Ludwig, Milwaukee; Byron B. Conway, Green Bay; R. Michael Waterman, Hudson; George K. Steil Jr., Janesville; Lee D. Turonie, Shawano; William F. Fale, Sheboygan; Raymond M. Dall’Osto, Milwaukee; Nilesh P. Patel, Madison; Douglas S. Buck, Madison; John R. Orton, Mauston; Gregory A. Pitts, Racine; Andrew P. Beilfuss, Milwaukee; Anthony J. Gray, Rockport, Maine.

Missing from photo: Thomas J. Drought, Milwaukee; Margaret W. Hickey, Milwaukee; Lisa M. Lawless, Milwaukee; Christopher E. Rogers, Madison; Leland Wigg-Ninham, Green Bay.

State Bar of Wisconsin Diversity Declaration

(Approved by the Board of Governors June 2012)

The State Bar of Wisconsin is an inclusive organization committed to recognizing, respecting, promoting and encouraging diversity among its leadership, its membership and the entire legal community. We encourage all local and specialty bars to promote diversity and inclusion in their membership and leadership. We encourage legal employers and law firms to promote diversity and inclusion within their workplaces to mirror the world in which we practice.