Sign In

Charles L. Goldberg Distinguished Service Award Recipients

The Charles L. Goldberg Distinguished Service Award is presented to a member of the State Bar of Wisconsin who has a long-standing record of service both to the legal profession and to the public.


1982 – Ralph M. Hoyt, Milwaukee
1983 – Robert B. L. Murphy, Madison
1985 – Victor A. Miller, St. Nazianz 
         – and Dean Robert F. Boden, Milwaukee
1986 – James D. Ghiardi, Milwaukee
1987 – Gordon Sinykin, Madison
1988 – Steven E. Keane, Milwaukee
1989 – John A. Kluwin, Kewaskum
1990 – George K. Steil, Sr., Janesville
1991 – Rodney O. Kittelsen, Monroe
1992 – Jack R. DeWitt, Madison
1993 – Margadette Demet, Milwaukee
1994 – Hon. Patrick T. Sheedy, Milwaukee
1995 – Francis J. Wilcox, Eau Claire
1996 – Justice Nathan S. Heffernan, Madison 
         – and Frank J. Remington, Madison
1997 – Philip S. Habermann, Madison​
1998 – Ben L. Chernov, Milwaukee
1999 – Gerald M. O'Brien, Stevens Point
2000 – Truman Q. McNulty, Milwaukee
2001 – Frank M. Gimbel, Milwaukee
2002 – Howard B. Eisenberg, Milwaukee
2003 – Donald L. Heaney, Madison
2004 – Richard L. Cates, Madison
         – and G. Lane Ware, Wausau
2005 – award was not presented
2006 – award was not presented
2007 – Dan Hildebrand* 
         – and Edward M. McCann, Milwaukee
2008 – Jeffrey B. Bartell, Madison
2009 – Charles Hanson, La Crosse
2010 – David G. Walsh, Madison
2011 – Donald L. Bach, Madison 
2012 – James D. Friedman, Milwaukee
2013 – John Doar, New York
2014 – Stephen Hurley, Madison                                                                                                                        
2015 – Barbara B. Crabb, Madison
2016 – Hon. Ness Flores, Waukesha & John S. Skilton, Madison
2017 – Gov. James E. Doyle, Jr., Madison
         – Gov. Anthony S. Earl, Madison
         – Gov. Martin J. Schreiber, Milwaukee
         – Gov. Tommy G. Thompson, Madison 
2018 – Dean R. Dietrich, Detrich VanderWaal SC, Wausau
2019 – Hon. Carl Ashley, Milwaukee County Circuit Court, Milwaukee
         – and Earl H. Munson, Jr., Boardman & Clark LLP, Madison
2020 – Joseph W. Boucher, Neider & Boucher S.C., Madison


Who was Charles L. Goldberg?

Charles L. GoldbergThe late Charles L. Goldberg, for whom the Distinguished Service Award is named, was a native of Milwaukee and received his law degree from Marquette University Law School in 1928.

Goldberg served as president of the State Bar of Wisconsin and the Milwaukee Bar Association. Goldberg won Marquette University's Distinguished Law Alumnus Award in 1972.

Goldberg was named chairman of the Fellows of the American Bar Foundation, where membership is considered a professional honor and evidence of distinction as a lawyer, judge or law teacher. He was also a member of the ABA House of Delegates and the ABA's standing committee on Constitution and Bylaws.

Leaders of the judiciary and the Bar praised him as an outstanding lawyer and pioneer in initiating free legal services for the poor.