Awards of Excellence

State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In

Top Link Bar

    RACIAL EQUITY: It’s Time to Step Up. We Need Your Help. Click Here.​​

    We are currently working to resolve some known performance issues with  We apologize for any inconvenience.

Awards of Excellence

Two awards are presented annually by the Wisconsin Law Foundation to recognize exceptional lawyers from Wisconsin. Members of the Foundation are encouraged to nominate lawyers they feel exemplify these award category descriptions.

The awards criteria for nomination and deadlines:

Charles L. Goldberg Distinguished Service Award each year recognizes one lawyer for lifetime service in the public interest.​
Criteria – This award's nominees are individual bar members who will be judged based upon their accomplishments in the law, service to the profession and service to the community as a whole over an entire career.
Deadline – Nominations must be received by July 1st.  EXTENDED TO: Friday, August 21, 2020. 
Gordon Sinykin Award of Excellence recognizes a lawyer, law firm or group of lawyers for their work on an individual law-related education or public service project in the preceding year. The award is presented annually at the State Bar's Annual Meeting & Conference, Member Recognition Celebration.
Criteria – This award's nominees can be either individuals or groups of bar members who will be judged based upon their work to fulfill a single, significant work in a law-related education or public service project during the previous year.
Ø Information about the award and the nomination procedure and form can be found here.
Ø Past recipients list can be found here.
Deadline – Nominations must be received by January 31st. 

Nominating Procedure

Each nomination should include:

  1. A letter of nomination, including the reasons for nominating the person for a particular award;
  2. The nominee's qualifications in resume or similar format;
  3. One to five (with a maximum of five) letters of recommendation from individuals who are knowledgeable about the nominee's qualifications to receive the award.

Please submit nominations to:

Wisconsin Law Foundation Awards Committee
ATTN: Beth Drake
P.O. Box 7158
Madison, WI 53707-7158

Please contact Beth Drake at (608) 250-6171 for more information. ​

Server Name