Inside Track: Make a Difference, Serve on a State Bar Committee :

State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In
  • InsideTrackInsideTrack

News & Pubs Search

  • Make a Difference, Serve on a State Bar Committee

    State Bar President-elect Patrick Fiedler will appoint members to standing and special committees this spring. To be considered, submit your interest forms by April 15.
    Share This:
    Patrick J. Fiedler

    Dear State Bar member,

    This spring I have the opportunity to appoint members to the State Bar’s standing and special committees.

    Committee service provides you the opportunity to influence important issues facing the profession and the legal system, and it’s a great way to meet other lawyers who want to make a difference. You’ll play a role in improving the Bar and the legal system, make important contributions that you’ll look back on with satisfaction, learn significant details about Bar governance, and create meaningful relationships.

    Committees conduct much of the work of the State Bar and often influence policy on critical issues. Committees also have significant input into how the Bar does and should operate as an entity. Appointments to standing committees are for three years; appointments to special committees are for one year. All committee appointments will begin on July 1.

    Our organization needs new volunteers to get involved. New volunteers provide new direction and new ideas to an organization. Getting involved is the best way to create a State Bar organization that you can support and be proud of. Whether you are a new lawyer, unsure of how or whether to get involved, or a veteran who for whatever reasons has stayed on the sidelines, perhaps now is the time to begin.

    Please take a moment to visit the Leadership Opportunities page and let me know which committees and issues facing Wisconsin lawyers you would like to contribute to. Submit Interest forms by April 15 to be considered for a 2013 appointment. Together we can make a difference.

    Best Wishes,

    Patrick Fiedler, President-elect