Inside Track: Nominate a Lawyer for the John Lederer Service Award, Deadline Aug. 5:

State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In
  • InsideTrackInsideTrack

News & Pubs Search

  • Nominate a Lawyer for the John Lederer Service Award, Deadline Aug. 5

    The John Lederer Service Award will be presented at the 2013 Wisconsin Solo & Small Firm Conference in October. Named in memory of Oregon, Wis., attorney John Lederer, this award is presented to an individual, group, or organization exemplifying Lederer’s leadership, spirit, and dedication. Nominations are due Aug. 5.
    Share This:

    July 3, 2013 – John Lederer saw it as his mission to help solo and small-firm lawyers master skills and technology to build their practices. Lederer was a visionary when it came to implementing technology into the practice of law. He served on and chaired the State Bar’s Technology Resource Committee (TRC). While serving on the TRC, he took on the copyright controversy with Westlaw and facilitated Wisconsin’s universal citation program. The universal citation, issued by courts, prevents any company from claiming a copyright on the publication of cases, making them available to attorneys at no cost. Lederer was key in creating the Solo and Small Firm Conference and saw it as an opportunity to better the practices and lives of Wisconsin’s attorneys. The award is presented at the conference.

    The award will be presented at the 2013 Wisconsin Solo & Small Firm Conference, which is scheduled from Oct. 24 to 26 in Wisconsin Dells.

    Award Criteria

    Nominees must show leadership in furthering the mission of the Wisconsin Solo and Small Firm Conference. That mission is to educate and support solo and small-firm attorneys as they practice the law, manage their businesses and enjoy their lives. Nominees may be Individuals, groups or organizations. Nominations will be evaluated on showing continued, selfless service to projects, efforts or organizations of benefit to solo and small-firm practitioners across Wisconsin. Nominees should be those who have advanced solo and small-firm practitioners in the areas of technology, legal education, practice management, ethics or quality of life. Past recipients of the award are Ross Kodner, Roberta Heckes, and Paul Angel.

    Nominating Procedure

    Each nomination should include (1) a letter of nomination detailing the reasons why the nominee should receive the award; (2) a resume or similar presentation of background information on the nominee; and (3) a maximum of three letters of recommendation from individuals who know of the nominee’s qualifications to receive the award. Please send nominations by Aug. 5, to com jkirk superiorlawoffices Johanna R. Kirk, Torvinen, Jones, Kirk & Routh S.C., 823 Belknap St. Suite 222, Superior, WI 54880, or by fax to (715) 395-0923.