Inside Track: Nominations for judicial awards due Jan. 27:

State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In

Top Link Bar may be unavailable on February 21 starting at 5 p.m. until 9 p.m. for system maintenance.​​​​​​

  • InsideTrackInsideTrack

News & Pubs Search

  • Nominations for judicial awards due Jan. 27

    Share This:

    In this video, Justice Ann Walsh Bradley calls for Judge of the Year, Lifetime Jurist Achievement Nominations.

    Judge of the Year Award recipients

    Carl Ashley, Benjamin Proctor, Tom R. Wolfgram, Frederic W. Fleishauer, Kitty K. Brennan, Mark S. Gempeler, John J. Perlich, Gerald C. Nichol, Maxine A. White, Gary L. Carlson, Michael P. Sullivan, Harold V. Froehlich, Dennis J. Barry, and Thomas H. Barland

    Lifetime Jurist Achievement Award recipients

    Angela Bartell, Thomas Barland, Michael N. Nowakowski , Neal P. Nettesheim, Michael J. Skwierawski, Edward R. Brunner, Lee E. Wells, Robert A. Haas, Edwin C. Dahlberg, Myron L. Gordon, P. Charles Jones, Mark J. Farnum, Patrick T. Sheedy, Peter G. Pappas, and John A. Decker.

    Dec. 7, 2011 – The State Bar Bench and Bar Committee is searching for two outstanding jurists to honor with its annual judicial awards. Nominations are sought for the 2011 Judge of the Year and Lifetime Jurist Achievement awards. The awards will be presented on June 14 at the State Bar 2012 Annual Meeting in Wisconsin Dells.

    The Bench and Bar Committee welcomes the chance to honor members of Wisconsin’s judiciary with these awards,” says Kelli Thompson, committee chair. “The public service of our circuit court judges demonstrates their commitment to justice and to the people of Wisconsin. We encourage nominations from the Bar as well as the public to recognize individual judges whose outstanding leadership advances the quality of justice.”

    The Judge of the Year Award recognizes a circuit court judge who has improved the judicial system during the past year by his or her leadership in advancing the quality of justice, judicial education, or innovative programs. High ideals, personal character, judicial competence, and community involvement are hallmarks of the award recipient.

    The Lifetime Jurist Achievement Award recognizes a jurist who has served more than one full term as a circuit court judge and has demonstrated outstanding, long-term judicial service during his or her years as a sitting judge.

    Send letters of nomination to: Bench and Bar Committee, c/o org kwenzel wisbar Kris Wenzel, State Bar of Wisconsin, P.O. Box 7158, Madison, WI 53707-7158, by Jan. 27.