LaFollette Recipients

State Bar of Wisconsin

Sign In

Top Link Bar

    Attention State Bar of Wisconsin PINNACLE books purchasers: Due to a change in our inventory system, between 8/19 at 3 p.m. and 8/31, the State Bar will be unable to ship printed books and supplements or fulfill walk-in orders. You may still place orders during this time, which will ship on 9/1. Other product orders will ship normally. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Belle Case LaFollette Outstanding Professional Award Recipients

The Belle Case LaFollette Outstanding Professional Award recognizes a lawyer who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the profession.

Note: In 2014 the Belle Case LaFollette Outstanding Professional Award was changed into a WLF scholarship and will no longer be given as an award.


1993 – James H. Schlender*
1994 – Marygold S. Melli, Madison
1995 – Karen A. Case, Longboat Key, FL
1996 – Linda S. Balisle, Madison
1997 – Gilda B. Shellow*
1998 – Jerris Leonard*
1999 – Karen L. Fritz-Klaus, Hales Corners
2000 – Thomas M. Anich*
2001 – Gene Posner*
2002 – Nicholas L. Chiarkas, Middleton
2003 – Harry F. Franke, Milwaukee
2004 – Daniel W. Hildebrand*
2005 – Michael J. Remington, Arlington
2006 – John Wabaunsee, Apple Valley
2009 – Thomas S. Sleik, La Crosse
2010 – Harvey A. Kurtz, Milwaukee
2011 – Susan A. Hansen, Milwaukee

* deceased